Duke Hosts Urologic Assembly & Urologic Cancer Symposium

Duke Urology will host the 51st annual Leading Edge Urology: Duke Urologic Assembly & Urologic Cancer Symposium from March 28 — 31 in Orlando, Florida. This educational conference features lectures by Duke faculty and guest urologists, medical and radiation oncologists. 

“At Duke, we have national and international thought leaders in bladder cancer, kidney cancer, prostate cancer, nephrolithiasis, reconstruction and other urologic diseases,” explained Michael Ferrandino, Co-Medical Director of the assembly. “This educational symposium covers the breadth of urology with a focus on urologic oncology and topics discussed range from updated standards of care, latest surgical techniques, cutting edge chemotherapeutic regimens, to the most recent (and ongoing) research.”

During the first two days of the conference, experts from across the DCI Center for Prostate & Urologic cancers will discuss updates in treatments and technology for bladder, kidney and prostate cancer. Additionally, Herbert Lepor, MD, Martin Spatz Chairman of Department of Urology at NYU School of Medicine, will present the 2019 Victor A. Politano, MD Lectureship on improving outcomes after radical prostatectomy.

“Duke has a more than 50-year tradition of excellence in urology, and this conference showcases our deep roster of urologists, medical and radiation oncologists, and basic scientists in urologic disease, including cancer,” said Michael Harrison, MD, Co-Medical Director of the assembly. “Every year the conference is well-attended, yet small enough for attendees to mingle with the presenters, discuss cases and develop clinical collaborations. It’s an important event for our field, as it combines multiple disciplines all focused in one area.”

This comprehensive scientific program provides effective and efficient evidence-based information and resources for the diagnosis and treatment of urologic conditions to healthcare teams specializing in the treatment of urologic and urologic oncology conditions and diseases. The conference is also a CME accredited program.

Duke Unviersity faculty presenters include Samuel Eaton, MD; Rajan Gupta, MD; Brant Inman, MD, MS; Bridget Koontz, MD; W. Robert Lee, MD; Aaron Lentz, MD; Michael Lipkin, MD; Judd Moul, MD; Steven Patierno, PhD; Glenn Preminger, MD; Jonathan Routh, MD; Charles Scales Jr. MD; John Wiener, MD and Tian Zhang, MD.

For more information, or to register for the assembly, please visit our website.